Uncluttered Desk, Uncluttered life

clean-desk

Clutter really, really stresses me out.  I know this about myself, yet, despite last week’s rant about taking care of us (the caregiver), I had a very messy desk going into the week…actually, it was a mess since the new year.  I was also VERY stressed – like, experiencing physical symptoms of stress.  It’s true, I juggle a lot.  My “big items” include:

  1. Taking care of two kids with special needs (Scoliosis), one that I am flying out of town with next week to get a new brace!
  2. Managing a business that supports and comforts Scoliosis patients
  3. Playing in a great band (My fun!…but still work)
  4. Taking Karate classes with my son
  5. Heading up my son’s First Tech Robotics team at school
  6. Getting my daughter to her many events
  7. In some times of the year, being in or helping to direct Musical Theater
  8. Trying to eat well and exercise (a constant time commitment)
  9. ETC

But, the fact is – we ALL juggle a lot.  And, the stress really takes a toll.  A wise person said to me on Tuesday “What CAN you do, right now, to reduce your stress?”  Well, she also told me to STOP TAKING ON MORE STUFF, but I have already been trying to do that (I have this thing about honoring my commitments, though, so it takes time)  Anyway….my answer to her was that I really needed to get my office organized and my desk cleared off.  It seemed like too simple of a task to really have benefit, but, when I vocalized it, I realized that it would help a  lot. And, I needed more photos of kittens in my office and a cute kitten notebook to write my to do list on, but that is besides the main point here.  So, that day, I invested a bit of money in organizing tools (and a kitten calendar and notebook, of course), and, now, Friday evening, I can say that I left my office with just as much to do, but much less stress about it. Walking into my office makes me feel peaceful and productive instead of crushed by stress.

But, this is just what works for me…today.  This isn’t going to work for everyone.  But, the fact remains that sometimes we need to pause, take stock of what ONE SIMPLE THING we can do to feel like we are more in control of the crazy to-do list, and take the time to do that one thing.  Those of you dealing with a new diagnosis of any illness, whether it be Scoliosis or another malady, may feel completely overwhelmed with information, data, questions, fears…you name it. But, just remember that your person won’t be healed (or completely fall apart) in one day. Or one week.  Take a few moments to think of what YOU need to feel more in control, and take on that one item, so that you can better deal with the mountain you have to climb.  You may find that it’s just what you need to get over the initial ridge.

EDIT: by the way, a great tool that I also use for organization is TRELLO.  Look it up – it’s an app for your phone or tablet, too, and you can organize your life into “boards” and each board has “cards” and each card has a list – you can put employees on there, family members, etc. And, you can coordinate projects and information.  Great tool, and it’s free.  You can find videos about it online.  Happy organizing…

 

One thought on “Uncluttered Desk, Uncluttered life”

  1. I’ve been attempting to declutter my house. It’s taking a long time, but I have been doing better in the kitchen and living room. Just that little bit helps me to feel sane and inspires me to do more. I want to lead a simpler life, and I believe it starts with the house, at least for me. Will go check out the app. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

