Focusing on the important in 2017

Hi everyone.  I must admit, I’ve been lax.  The last few months have been a flurry of insane activity, as we deal with normal life with a middle-schooler and a high-schooler, and two parents with demanding careers.  Add to that a large boom in business (thanks to all you Scoliosis warriors that have tried and enjoyed our products!)…and, well, certain things (like this blog), unfortunately, fell to the wayside.  When busyness sets in, it seems nobody is safe from turning away from the “important” things and focusing on the “urgent”.

One of the required reading pieces in my college Entrepreneurship class was Stephen Covey’s The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  The concepts in this book have always stuck with me (and I probably need to re-read it), but one of the points I remember most is the concept of the “important” vs. the “urgent”.  You can read more on that HERE, but, basically, the important things are those that have great benefit in the long run – those that help us achieve our goals.  And, urgent tasks are those that have immediate consequences if not done.  Sometimes urgent tasks can be important (crying baby, anyone?), but it’s the important tasks that are NOT urgent that are easy to push by the wayside.  For me, that is healthy eating, spending quality time with those I love, and nurturing relationships with other Scoliosis families.

We are all guilty of it – we let our health slide, our friendships fade, our spiritual development fall to the wayside, in the pursuit of a few moments apart from the never-ending “to do” list.  But, as I was driving today from one activity to the next, I realized that ignoring those important things will eventually come back around to haunt us.  Our energy fades as we ignore our health, loneliness sets in when we ignore our relationships, and, when trials hit, we forget how to cope when we let our spiritual development lag.

Our family had been moving at a crazy pace for months, when we decided to head to Ann Arbor, Michigan in late December for 24 hours of family fun.  We were combining a little get-away with the kids’ annual Scoliosis checks.  We figured our years on “hiatus”, that we had become so used to, would continue.  We knew that our son had a tremendous growth spurt this year (3 inches!), but his curves had been so minimal for so long – I just got used to the comfortable place of moving outside the Scoliosis world.  But, alas, our hiatus is over – our son’s curves have increased.  Thankfully only to 25 degrees, but still substantial enough that we need to go back to nighttime bracing.  After over 3 years of no bracing for either child, we are headed on a trip back out to see Luke at the National Scoliosis Center to get a shiny new brace.  BAM, our crazy frenetic pace has been interrupted, as we are brought back into the Scoliosis world full-force.  Mind you, I never really leave it – I am in it, day in and day out, as I help OTHER families through their struggles.  But, now, just as I became complacent when it came to our own family, we are back into it with a vengeance.  And, it reminded me that I have to focus on the important things, as I tackle the urgent. I need to continue to reach out to you, my virtual Scoliosis family, as our immediate family journey continues.  I pledge to write to you more, and I hope you write to me more.  Feel free to reach out through this blog or through my EmBraced In Comfort facebook page. Let’s continue to support each other, as we resolve to live our crazy, frantic everyday lives, while dealing with the important task of treating and improving our Scoliosis.

Leave a Reply

