Sports with Scoliosis

Hey everyone!

Today, I am going to do my best to answer Jackie Umstead’s question.

One of the first questions I had for my doctor when I found out I was going to need surgery was this: Will I still be able to do sports? Her answer was yes. I play basketball, volleyball, and I lift weights. A lot of these can be extremely beneficial to those with scoliosis. For instance, if you do it correctly, lifting weights can help strengthen your back muscles. Since I wore a brace for so long, my back and shoulder muscles were weak because I didn’t use them much. Now that I’ve started weight lifting again, I can definitely feel a difference. My dad, who also has scoliosis (he never got treatment), says that weight lifting helps a lot with back pain. Another helpful thing to do is stretch. I know that my hamstrings are always tight, and this can sometimes cause tightness in my back. Even though I don’t stretch very often, I should. My doctor recommended daily stretching for me, and I’ve seen other websites that support this as well. Don’t push yourself too hard, though. If you do too much too soon, you could pull a muscle. It’s not fun having a pulled muscle; I speak from experience.

If you are pre-surgery, a lot of doctors recommend swimming because it helps strengthen the spinal muscles in a weightless environment. If you are post-surgery, the first thing you should do is consult your doctor. After searching around a bit, I found that most competitive swimmers go back to swimming after either six months or a year. Their ability to do certain strokes or flips depends on the person and the level of curvature they had. It is also dependent on which part of the spine was curved. Some people can’t do flip turns or the butterfly stroke, others can.

Some sports you have to be careful with, though. Some people don’t recommend long distance running, because it can be very jarring. Sports like gymnastics, tennis, and anything that is one-sided or causes you to twist a lot can be harmful. A lot of these sports are dependent on your type of curve. I can’t do gymnastics because I physically can’t twist around, and I had to stop a few years after I got diagnosed. All of the twisting and bending was worsening my curve.

Always ask your doctor about sports before trying them. I am not an expert, but I dug up as much as I could. If  see anything else on growing rods and swimming, I will be sure to post an update.

Good luck, and see you next week!

P.S.- Here are some websites and blogs that I found.

http://www.treatingscoliosis.com/blog/sports-and-exercise-if-you-have-scoliosis/

http://sport.onehowto.com/article/what-sports-are-good-for-scoliosis-5740.html

http://www.scoliosis.org/forum/showthread.php?7651-Swimming-Competitively&s=dc3d0783329eb9708169dc6ca1f624da

https://scoliosis3dc.com/scoliosis-and-sports/

http://www.cw.bc.ca/library/pdf/pamphlets/BCCH1689_TheGrowingSpine_2015.pdf

Leave a Reply

